Captura de pantalla 2017-03-08 a la(s) 8.26.44 (1)

This Workshop is a regular meeting taking place in Viña del Mar, Chile, since December 1985. Its current director and founder is Professor Enrique Tirapegui of the Universidad de Chile. The aim of the Workshop is to create a stimulating environment for experts from the region and the rest of the world to present their results and discuss those with the nonlinear community. Since, its beginnings, a key goal of the Workshop has been to promote the participation and cross-discipline interaction of young scientists together with more established experts from a wide variety of the Nonlinear fields.


This Session has a very special character since it appears on the occasion of the 50th birthday of seminal manuscripts of Dissipative Structures in Chemical Systems by I. Prigogine; in which Prigogine establishes the basis of the concept of dissipative structures. This term was introduced to contrast to equilibrium structure as atomic crystal. Dissipative structures are organized nonequilibrium states of matter created and maintained due to dissipative processes. Dissipative structures were observed from chemistry, biology, ecology, optics to physics. This concept has been one of the masterpieces of nonlinear science. In 1977, I. Prigogine received Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for his contributions to non-equilibrium thermodynamics, particularly the theory of dissipative structures”.

Captura de pantalla 2017-02-26 a la(s) 12.21.51 (1)

The Workshop has played a great role in the development of Physics in Chile and the region, especially in the area of Nonlinear Physics and NonEquilibrium Statistical Mechanics.   The Proceedings of the first 9 sessions have been published regularly with Kluwer Academic Publishers (Holland) in the Series on Nonlinear Phenomena and Complex Systems of the Centro de Física No Lineal y Sistemas Complejos de Santiago (CFNL). The Proceedings of the 11th session appeared in a special number of the International Journal of Bifurcations and Chaos and the Proceedings of 12th session were published in a special issue of the European Journal of Physics D.